Analysing Businesses

Managing Business Change

Requirement Definition – Are we Done Yet? – Part 3

 

Criterion 3: Look at Your Models

A variety of practices exist around creating models, to verify that you have a complete set of requirements.. They can be developed using business process, object-oriented, or structured analysis techniques amongst others. When I speak of models, I am referring to Activity Diagrams, Swim Lane Diagrams, Flowcharts, DFDs, ERDs and the like. I am a staunch advocate of modeling. Developing models is a great way to engage the stakeholder and get them to communicate their requirements in a non-intimidating and comprehensive way. By non-intimidating I mean- how scary is it to draw a picture to graphically present what is done today or that which is wanted in the future? Comprehensive? With a picture, you can easily validate steps and decision points and identify errors and omissions.

To assess the completeness of my requirements, I prefer to work from both my current state and future state diagrams. By analyzing both states, I increase my confidence level that I have the requirements to sustain existing function, performance, and compliance needs as well as define the requirements essential to achieve the defined Vision and scope.

April 14, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

No comments yet.

Leave a comment